School Board Seeking Applicants For Vacant Seat

School Board Chairman Mike Wooten (center), Vice Chairman Dorothy Johnson (left) and Superintendent Dr. Ross Renfrow discuss the replacement process for Larry Strickland’s unexpired term during a meeting held Dec. 13th. The board voted to accept applications through December 28th and select the new candidate during a special meeting on January 3rd. Photo

The Johnston County School Board plans to fill a vacant seat left by the resignation of former Board Chairman Larry Strickland in early January.

Strickland stepped down Tuesday after 18 years on the school board after winning election to the NC General Assembly.

Newly elected Chairman Mike Wooten said he would like to see the new board member in place by the next regularly scheduled meeting on January 10th.  Wooten recommended a special called meeting on January 3rd to select the replacement.

Board member Butler Hall of Four Oaks agreed, saying a full 7-member board is needed as soon as possible.  Superintendent Dr. Ross Renfrow said two letters of interest had already been received. He did not name the persons who had expressed interest, however WTSB News has learned that two former candidates for the school board, Crystal Kimpson Roberts and Todd Sutton, are both reportedly interested in Strickland’s unexpired term which ends in November 2018.

The Board agreed to advertise for a replacement through 5:00pm on Wednesday, December 28th.  Any Johnston County citizen who has interest in the position is encouraged to submit a letter along with a resume before the deadline.  Board of Education policy requires the appointee to have lived in Johnston County for at least 30 days, be 21 years of age, and is not an employee of Johnston County Schools.

Applications can be dropped off in person or by mailing to: Johnston County Board of Education, P.O. Box 1336, Smithfield, NC 27577 or by email to Michelle Weckesser, Board Assistant for Johnston County Board of Education at

Immediately after the deadline, the applicants information will be forwarded to school board members to review. They will vote on the replacement on January 3rd at 5:00pm during a special called meeting.