Woman Arrested For 5th DWI Offense

A Raleigh woman faces possible jailtime and a permanent revocation of her driver’s license after Clayton Police arrested her early Thursday morning for her 5th DWI in less than 10 years.

Clayton Police arrested Maria Jackson, 26, at 2:37 a.m. Thursday after having clocked her Hyundai Elantra traveling west past the Walmart shopping center at 67 mph on U.S. 70 Business, where the speed limit is 55 mph. Jackson is a homeless resident of Raleigh, according to police reports.

Upon arrival at the car, police reportedly noticed a strong smell of alcohol and a passenger who appeared to be passed out. When asked by police, Jackson allegedly acknowledged that she had been drinking and did not have a driver’s license. Jackson instead provided an identification card.

Jackson agreed to take a field sobriety test and showed several signs of intoxication. After agreeing to an onsite breath-alcohol test, police said Jackson registered BACs of 0.16 and 0.18. Based on these circumstances, Jackson was arrested and transported to the Clayton Police Department. Based on Jackson’s previous arrests and loss of license for driving while impaired, police called a tow truck to seize her vehicle. The passenger called someone for a ride and was not taken into custody.

At the station, Jackson refused to be breathalyzed. Clayton Police drove Jackson to the Johnston County Jail, where a magistrate swore out a search warrant for her blood. Jackson’s blood was drawn at 4:30 a.m. at Johnston Health Smithfield and placed into evidence.

Finally, police transported Jackson back to the Johnston County Jail, where a magistrate charged her with Habitual Impaired Driving, which is a felony, and Driving While License Revoked for Impaired Driving. Clayton Police also cited Jackson for speeding.

She was placed in the Johnston County Jail under a $100,000 bond.

If convicted of habitual impaired driving, under North Carolina law, Jackson faces a minimum of one year in prison and a permanent revocation of her driver’s license, under North Carolina law.