17 People Have Applied For Vacant School Board Seat

SMITHFIELD – Johnston County Public Schools today (Monday) released a list of 17 people who have applied thus far for a seat on the Board of Education.  The list includes some candidates who ran unsuccessfully for the school board in 2020

The applicants as of this morning include:  Jaron Benson, Al Byrd, Sarah Chera, Brice Connors, Heather Fox, Mark Lane, George Moore, Teena Nichols, Robert O’Neal, Jr., Thomas Presti, J.M. Radford, Jr., Marvin Rawls, Jr., Charles Snyder, Terry Tippett, Lock Whiteside, Jim Wiesner, and Dr. Chuck Williams.

The Board of Education will continue to accept Statements of Interest from individuals who are interested in filling the vacated seat of Tracie Zukowski.  The deadline to apply is Monday, February 15th, 2021.

The candidate who is selected will fill out Zukowki’s term, which expires in 2022.