20 Semi-Finalists Selected For Flame For Learning Award

Twenty teachers have been selected for the 2018 Johnston County Schools Flame For Learning Award.

The 20 semi-finalists were selected out of 258 outstanding educators across the county nominated for the prestigious award.

They include:

Kelly Bradshaw- South Johnston High

Alexandra Canady- Powhatan Elementary

LiAnn Cheong- Riverwood Elementary

Lindsey Dotzel- South Johnston High School

Tracy Finch- Riverwood Middle

Erin Haskins- Riverwood Middle

Gardner Johnson- Innovation Academy

Bethany Jones- Smithfield-Selma High School

Morgan Jones- Micro Elementary

Jennifer Medlin- Riverwood Elementary

Danielle Reichard- Powhatan Elementary

Mary Catherine Roberts- Powhatan Elementary

Tinkia Ruffin- Selma Middle School

Christina Nait Saidi- Wilson’s Mills Elementary

Lori Sharpe- McGee’s Crossroads Elementary

Stacey Sharron- Riverwood Elementary

Kimberly Smith- Riverwood Elementary

Jennifer Thorne- Clayton Middle School

Brian VanDerlaske- West Johnston High School

Allen Williams- West Johnston High

The Flame For Learning Award recognizes outstanding creativity and innovation in the classroom and nominees are selected strictly on merit, without regard to the school or residence.

The recipient is named the Johnston County Schools Teacher of the Year and will represent Johnston County Public Schools in the NC Teacher of the Year competition.  An awards banquet will be held on Tuesday, April 24th at 6:00pm at The Farm in partnership with the Johnston County Association of Chambers of Commerce.