20 Semifinalist Announced For Teacher Of The Year

Johnston County’s Teacher of the Year will be named at the 26th Annual Triangle East Flame for Learning Award Ceremony scheduled for April 28, 2020 at West Johnston High School. The ceremony will also recognize 20 teachers who have been named semifinalists for the award. This year, the public is invited to attend the award ceremony in support of the teachers.

The Flame for Learning Award was developed to reward innovation, creativity and excellence in the classroom. Through a nomination process, teachers in Johnston County were invited to submit a “best idea or practice” used by that teacher. A total of 231 teachers were nominated by fellow employees of the Johnston County Public School system.

The 2020 Flame for Learning semifinalist are: Brittany Addison (West View Elementary), Tonya Painter (McGee’s Crossroads Elementary), Amanda Turner (Clayton Middle), Mary Horne (Riverwood Elementary), Monica Manzer (Clayton High), Traci Miodusewski (Polenta Elementary), Glenna Wozniak (Meadow School), Nicole Humphrey (West View Elementary), Carmen Young (Wilson’s Mills Elementary), Maryam Duran (Archer Lodge Middle), Valorie Trombley (Riverwood Elementary), Lena LeBoeuf (Polenta Elementary), Morgan Jones (Micro Elementary), John Stull (West Johnston High), Colleen Bonner (West Johnston High), Tammy Todd (McGee’s Crossroads Elementary), Meredith Thompson (Princeton Elementary), Rickilee (Allen) Williams (West Johnston High), Frances Clark (West Johnston High), and Dawn Cunningham (River Dell Elementary).

The winner of the Flame for Learning Award will represent Johnston County in the regional competition.