2018 N.C. State Fair Youth Livestock Scholarship recipients announced

33 students awarded $2,000 each

Thirty-three North Carolina students have been named recipients of 2018 N.C. State Fair Youth Livestock Scholarships, Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler announced.

The scholarships are designed for high school seniors and students currently enrolled in an institute of higher education who have participated in the junior livestock or market turkey shows at the N.C. State Fair.

The scholarships were funded by sponsors of the annual N.C. State Fair Junior Livestock Sale of Champions. The number of scholarships awarded each year is based on qualified applicants and funds available from the previous year’s Sale of Champions. Because of strong support of the 2017 sale, 33 scholarships valued at $2,000 each were awarded this year.

“We have awarded nearly $225,000 in scholarships since starting this program in 2015,” Troxler said. “These scholarships are an investment in the next generation of farmers and agribusiness leaders. I cannot thank our sponsors enough for their support of these young people.”

A selection committee evaluated applicants based on their involvement with N.C. State Fair junior livestock shows, academic achievement, extracurricular activities and an essay. Each application was assigned a number and identifying information was removed before evaluation.
Following is a list of the scholarship recipients by county, along with the university or community college they will attend this fall:


  • Tucker Worley, Leicester, North Carolina State University
  • Jordan McAninch, Leicester, Appalachian State University


  • Kaylyn Groce, Siler City, University of Georgia
  • Sarah Thomas, Pittsboro, Virginia Tech


  • Abby Fulton, Lexington, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • Tristen Fulton, Lexington, Iowa State University


  • Caley Mayo, Whitakers, N.C. State University


  • Joey Moore, Youngsville, N.C. State University


  • Melanie Fishel, Kernersville, Oklahoma State University


  • Gage Riddick, Corapeake, Eastern Mennonite University


  • Cara Smith, Pleasant Garden, Western Carolina University


  • Mason Blinson, Buies Creek, Oklahoma State University


  • Kelsey Bentley, Kenly, N.C. State University
  • Cecilia Fricke, Middlesex, East Carolina University
  • Haley Stevens, Selma, Wilson Community College


  • Jordan Cox-O’Neill, Willow Spring, N.C. State University


  • Makensie Mohrfeld, Pink Hill


  • Bethany Mackey, Mars Hill, East Tennessee State University
  • Sylas Owen, Boone, Appalachian State University


  • Coleman Berry, Ellerbe, N.C. State University


  • Dakota Locklear, Pembroke, N.C. State University


  • Megan Lawing, Bostic, Gardner-Webb University
  • Lauren Murray, Bostic


  • LeAnn Harward, Richfield, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


  • Rachel Brown, Walnut Cove, N.C. State University


  • Faith Dunbar, Wake Forest, East Carolina University
  • Garrett See, University of Nebraska-Lincoln


  • Alec Linton, Mount Olive, Methodist University
  • Taylor Glover, Pikeville, Wayne Community College


  • Liz-Anne Earle, Kenly, West Texas A&M University
  • Grace LaHay, Elm City


  • Leah Thomas, East Bend, Western Carolina University