2019 Neuse River Futbol Alliance (NRFA) High School Miss Soccer Award and Girls High School All County Team Released

Clayton – Neuse River Futbol Alliance (NRFA) officially announces the 2019 Johnston County High School Miss Soccer Award and NRFA Girls High School All County Team.  The NRFA Girls High School All County Team represents 15 of the best high school girls’ soccer players in Johnston County as voted upon by a special panel of media representatives and knowledgeable soccer coaches from NRFA and the local area.

High School Coaches of all public, private, and home school teams in Johnston County were able to nominate deserving players.  These nominations were then discussed and scored by a panel of judges to determine the All County Team.  The All County Team for 2019 will consists of 4 defenders, 4 midfielders, 5 forwards and 2 goalkeepers.  From this list of 15, the Miss Soccer Award is presented to the student athlete that is deemed to be the player that had the most impact on her team and arguably is the best high school soccer player in the county for the 2019 girl’s high school season.

“Girls Soccer in Johnston County continues to get better each year at every level.  Every program is setting records for wins, conference championships, and playoff wins.  The job of the committee gets tougher every year as these tremendous student athletes continue to perform at a high level on the pitch.  We would like to congratulate all the young ladies that were nominated” said NRFA Chair of the Selection Committee, Keith Jenkins.  The award winners will receive a certificate while Miss Soccer will receive a trophy as well as a $200 scholarship from NRFA.  In addition, the award recipients will meet for a press photo later in the year.

2019 NRFA High School Miss Soccer – Leah Rodgers – Clayton

2018 NRFA Girls High School All County Team:

Maggie Gaskins – Clayton
Erin Barefoot – Corinth Holders
Sarah Gaskins – Neuse Charter
Veronica Blackman – Princeton
Taylor Campbell – West Johnston

Leah Rodgers – Clayton
Tina El-Amoor – Cleveland
Lindy Morgan – Corinth Holders
Dargan Harris – Neuse Charter

Carson Paschal – Clayton
Riley Mann – Clayton
Kaelin Sanderford – Corinth Holders
Melanie Barbee – North Johnston

Kasey Wilkins – Clayton
Alyssa Walawender – Corinth Holders

Cara Davis – Cleveland
Faith Thomson – Corinth Holders
Maira Teurel – North Johnston
Rachel Creech – Princeton
Cristina Martinez – Smithfield Selma
Vanesa Sanchez-Torres – Smithfield Selma
Elena Overman – West Johnston

The Neuse River Futbol Alliance was formed between Johnston United Soccer Association and East Wake Soccer Association in March 2017 to help promote the growth and development of competitive youth soccer in our local communities.  Neuse River FA is to provide the programs and activities that focus on the development, promotion and administration of the game among the youth in our communities and to instill the ideals of excellent character and good sportsmanship.  Integrated in this is building a “total” player focusing on self-esteem, self-confidence, teamwork, respect for self and others and all the inherent benefits of physical exercise.

In addition to sponsoring the NRFA Mr. and Miss Soccer Awards and All County Teams, NRFA serves as the title sponsor for the Johnston County Boys High School County Tournament, the NRFA Cup.

For the latest information on NRFA and its programs, visit www.neuseriverfa.org.