Benson Elected Officials Receive Oaths

A new mayor was sworn in Tuesday night in Benson and three newly elected commissioners received their oaths.

Outgoing Benson commissioners Will Chandler and Fred Nelson, as well as outgoing Mayor William Massengill were recognized for their numerous years of service to Benson during the town’s Tuesday night’s board meeting. In addition, Mr. Massengill received a South Johnston High School scholarship established for students in his name – presented by his wife, Elaine, and the prestigious Order of the Long Leaf Pine – presented by Paul Meyer with the North Carolina League of Municipalities.
Benson Mayor Jerry Medlin receives his Oath of Office from NC House Rep. Larry Strickland.
Maxine Holley who won a write in campaign for Benson Town Council on Nov. 7th receives her Oath of Office on Tuesday night.
Jim Johnson receives his Oath of Office for the Benson board of commissioners.
William Neighbors receives his Oath of Office for a 4 year term on the Benson Board of Commissioners.

The Benson Conference Center was packed with family, friends, and town staff as each elected official took the oath.