Carver Reappointed Board Chairman

With the appointment of a new member to the Johnston County Board of Commissioners this week, the 7-member board voted on the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Board.

Commissioner Jeff Carver of Clayton was unanimously reappointed as Chairman of the Board for 2018.

Commissioner Ted Godwin of Selma was unanimously reappointed as Vice Chairman of the Board for 2018.

Both Carver and Godwin served in their respective leadership roles in 2017.

Lee Jackson of Smithfield was sworn in on Monday as the newest commissioner, replacing Keith Branch who resigned in September.

Four seats on the board of commissioners are up for election in 2018, including seats held by Commissioners Lee Jackson, Chad Stewart, Cookie Pope and Allen Mims.