Council Approves DSDC, Housing Authority Appointments

The Smithfield Town Council has approved three reappointments and four new appointments to the Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation (DSDC) Board of Directors.

Rick Childrey, Ruffin Johnson and Billie Stevens were reappointed to the Board of Directors.  Todd Johnson, Jud Patterson, Jeremy Pearce and Cathie Shuler were appointed to their first terms.

DSDC bylaws require any appointment to their board be approved by the Town Council.

The Council also approved a request to appoint Daniel Evans to a Commissioner seat on the Smithfield Housing Authority Board.  Daniels replaces Rev. Megan Matthews whose term expired in Oct. 2018. She did not wish to be reappointed.  Evans will serve a term ending Oct. 20, 2023.