December Board Appointments

The Johnston County Board of Commissioners made the following appointments during their December meeting:

Economic Development Advisory Board
O. Hampton Whittington was reappointed to represent the Town of Benson.

Vic Medlin was reappointed to represent the Town of Four Oaks.

Mike Fleming was reappointed to represent the Town of Smithfield.

Jason Gipe and Steve Hargis were both reappointed to two at-large positions.  The five positions are for 2 year terms.

Hospital Authority Board
Dr. Marilyn Pearson of Clayton, Johnston County’s Public Health Director was appointed to a position on the Hospital Authority Board of Commissioners.  She will fill out the unexpired term of Dr. Robert Bylciw who resigned this fall. The term will end in September 2018.

Tourism Authority
Four people applied for two positions on the Johnston County Tourism Authority.  Commissioners appointed Cheryl Lane and Michael “Paul” Boucher for the two positions, each serving a 3 year term. Dwight Morris and Eric Jackson had also sought the positions.

Veterans Service Advisory Board
District 1 – Larry Wayne Medlin was reappointed to a 3 year term
District 3 – No applications were received
District 5 – Rudy Baker was reappointed
District 7 – No applications were received

Thanksgiving Firefighter’s Relief Fund Board
William Gerald Fowler of Selma was reappointed to the Thanksgiving Firefighter’s Relief Fund Board of Trustees for a two year term. Fowler has previously served 19 years on the board.  The board approved a waiver to their length of service policy.

RTZ Advisory Committee
Franklin Norwood Thompson of Clayton, a real estate developer, was reappointed to the Research and Training Zone (RTZ) Advisory Committee for a three year term.  Thompson has served on the RTZ committee for 14 years and the board approved a waiver in the length of service policy with his reappointment.