Dozens Honored At ‘Leading With The Heart’ Event

Johnston County Public Schools honored 50 employees for going above and beyond in and outside of the classroom at the district’s annual “Leading with the Heart” reception on Feb. 21.

The event, which is inspired from Mike Krzyewski’s book, “Leading with the Heart,” recognizes employees throughout the school system that demonstrate leadership, compassion, and heart on a daily basis.

Johnston County Public Schools honored 50 employees who demonstrate good character and go above and beyond in and outside of the classroom at the annual “Leading with the Heart” reception on Feb. 21. Those who were honored are Alan Barnes, Joyce Bayles, Jordan Blackley, Ashley Branch, Candace Bullock, Ruth Michele Byrd, Brett Capps, Lisa Carr, Doug Denton, Allison Dunn, Cali Durning, Destiny Fullwood, Chief Chuck Green, Susan Hales, Elizabeth Ham, Tim Holder, Eric Honeycutt, Tracie Johnson, Amanda Johnson, Annis Kennedy, Allison Lawhorn, Patricia Lytle, Kelly Martin, Brody Massengill, Jennifer McClure, Ann Meigs, Becky Merrick, Michele Norman, Connie Norris, Lydia O’Keefe-Grady, William Overby, Beverly Parker, Katie Pilkington, Ashley Radford, Emily Rose, Allen Sasser, Jessica Scarboro, Liz Sinclair, Jerry Smith, Regan Steidl, Dana Tuggle, Anna Marie Wade, Laura Warren, Roni Westbrook, Sheron Wiggs, Latrieva Wilson, Carla Withrow, April Wood, Becky Worley, and Myra Youngblood.

Each school and central services department selects one person from their staff to be honored at this special event. Those who were recognized all take pride in their work, are meticulous in their work ethic, and are mentors and good role models.

Honorees often volunteer for extra work duties, or they volunteer in the community. They are generous and constantly look for ways to help others, are consistently reliable, respectful, determined, and passionate.

During the celebratory reception, each honoree was recognized by having highlights of his or her appreciated service featured in a special video. Recipients were also presented with a commemorative Leading with the Heart pin and thanked for their service to Johnston County Public Schools by Board of Education Chairman Michael C. Wooten and fellow board members, as well as Superintendent Dr. Ross Renfrow.

2019 Leading with the Heart Recipients:

Archer Lodge Middle – Alan Barnes
Benson Elementary – Tracie Johnson
Benson Middle – Ashley Branch
Clayton High – Ann Meigs
Clayton Middle – Allison Dunn
Cleveland Elementary -Roni Westbrook
Cleveland High – Brett Capps
Cleveland Middle – Connie Norris
Cooper Academy – April Wood
Corinth Holders High – Allison Lawhorn
Corinth-Holders Elementary – Jerry Smith
Dixon Road Elementary – Candace Bullock
East Clayton Elementary – Sheron Wiggs
Four Oaks Elementary – Tim Holder
Four Oaks Middle – Dana Tuggle
Glendale-Kenly Elementary – Jordan Blackley
Innovation Academy at South Campus – Elizabeth Ham
Johnston County Career and Technical Leadership Academy – Becky Worley
Johnston County Early College Academy – Kelly Martin
McGee’s Crossroads Elementary – Becky Merrick
McGee’s Crossroads Middle – Myra Youngblood
Meadow School – Lisa Carr
Micro Elementary – Laura Warren
North Johnston High – Chief Chuck Green
North Johnston Middle – Annis Kennedy
Pine Level Elementary – Allen Sasser
Polenta Elementary – Jennifer McClure
Powhatan Elementary – Regan Steidl
Princeton Elementary – Beverly Parker
Princeton Middle/High – Joyce Bayles
River Dell Elementary – Liz Sinclair
Riverwood Elementary – Patricia Lytle
Riverwood Middle – Amanda Johnson
Selma Elementary – Latrieva Wilson
Selma Middle – Ruth Michele Byrd
Smithfield Middle – Destiny Fullwood
Smithfield-Selma High – Susan Hales
South Johnston High – Brody Massengill
South Smithfield Elementary – Cali Durning
Swift Creek Middle – Jessica Scarboro
West Clayton Elementary – Lydia O’Keefe-Grady
West Johnston High – Eric Honeycutt
West Smithfield Elementary – Emily Rose
West View Elementary – Anna Marie Wade
Wilson’s Mills Elementary – William Overby
Academic Innovation – Ashley Radford
Administrative Services and Operations – Doug Denton
Communication and Engagement – Michele Norman
Human Capital – Carla Withrow
Superintendent’s Office – Katie Pilkington