Field Of School Board Candidates Narrow

In the non-partisan race for the Johnston County Board of Education, the field of 11 has narrowed to eight.

Candidates Dale Bender, Chip Swartz and John Taylor Brantley were the low vote getters and were eliminated Tuesday by voters. Prior to the primary, Brantley had already withdrawn from the race but it was too late to have his name removed from the ballot.

The 8 candidates that will advance to Nov. 8th include two incumbents seeking reelection.

Incumbent Mike Wooten of Princeton was the top vote getter with 16,488 votes (15%), Teresa Grant finished second with 13,802 (13%)  and incumbent Dr. Peggy D. Smith of Angier with 13,527 (12%).

They were followed by Ronald Johnson of Clayton with 12,156 votes (11%), Todd Sutton of Kenly 11,044 (10%), Summer Hamrick of Smithfield 10,779 (10%), Crystal Kimpson Roberts of Smithfield 10,623 (10%), and Jeff Jennings of Clayton with 8,515 votes (8%).

On Nov. 8th, voters will elect 4 of the eight candidates to a four year term on the school board.