Filing Period Opens Friday

The filing period for the 2017 elections opens Friday in Johnston County.

Candidates wanting to throw their hats in the ring for an elected position can do so starting at Noon on Friday, July 7th. The filing period will end on Friday, July 21st at Noon at the Johnston County Board of Elections Office at 205 S. Second Street in Smithfield.

Among the seats up for election this year:

Town of Archer Lodge
Teresa Burton                    Council Seat
Mark Wilson                       Council Seat

Town of Benson
William M. Massengill Jr.     Mayor
Will Chandler                     Commissioner Seat
Frederick Nelson                Commissioner Seat
Jerry Medlin                      Commissioner Seat

Town of Clayton
Michael Grannis                 Council Seat
Art Holder                         Council Seat
Bob Satterfield                  Council Seat

Town of Four Oaks
Linwood Parker                  Mayor
John G. Hatch                    Commissioner Seat
Walter R. Holt                    Commissioner Seat

Town of Kenly

Bonnie Williamson              Mayor
James Little                       Council Seat
Vacant                              Council Seat

Town of Micro
Walter “Jay” Warren           Mayor
Russell Creech                   Commissioner Seat
Jay Langston                     Commissioner Seat
Tim Earp                           Commissioner Seat

Town of Pine Level

Jeff Holt                                  Mayor
Karen Anderson                    Commissioner Seat
Jimmy F. Garner                   Commissioner Seat
Greg Baker                           Commissioner Seat
Phil Pittman                          Commissioner Seat

Town of Princeton

Donald B. Rains                    Mayor
David Starling                      Commissioner Seat
Larry Withrow                      Commissioner Seat

Town of Selma
Cheryl Oliver                          Mayor
William Overby                      Council Seat
Jackie Lacy                            Council Seat

Town of Smithfield
Andy Moore                           Mayor
Marlon Lee                            Council Seat – District 1
Perry Harris                           Council Seat – District 2
Travis Scott                           Council Seat – District 3
Roger A. Wood                      Council Seat – District 4

Town of Wilson’s Mills
Phillip R. Wright                     Mayor
Kenneth Jones                      Council Seat
Fleta Byrd                            Council Seat
Randy Jernigan                     Council Seat

Whitley Heights Sanitary District
Alvin H. Stevens Jr.              Commissioner Seat
David White                         Commissioner Seat

The filing fees for all municipalities – with the exception of Selma and Smithfield – are $5 for town commissioner and $10 for mayor.

In Selma, the filing fee for mayor is $24 and $18 for town council.

In Smithfield, the filing fee is $20 for mayor and $20 for town council.

Among the requirements to hold a municipal office in North Carolina, a person must be 21 years of age by the time they take office and the candidate must live in the municipality (or district) for which they are running.