Governor Issues Stay At Home Order For All Of North Carolina

“It’s What We Have To Do To Save Lives,” Gov. Cooper Says

RALEIGH – In a news conference Friday afternoon, NC Governor Roy Cooper announced he has signed a Stay at Home Order for the entire State of North Carolina.   The order is in response to COVID-19.  As of today, 763 coronavirus cases have been confirmed in 60 counties in North Carolina. The numbers continue to increase rapidly.

Enforcement of the Stay at Home Order will begin at 5:00pm on Monday, March 30th.  Citizens will be allowed to leave home for essentials including food, medicine, work, outdoor exercise and to help others.

The order also bans gatherings of 10 or more people in North Carolina and requests citizens stay at least six feet away from others in an attempt to avoid the spread of the coronavirus.  Social distancing is expected to save lives and reduce the burden on the healthcare system.

“These are tough directives but I need you to take them seriously,” Gov. Cooper said.

“North Carolina is now considered by the CDC to have widespread transmission meaning that some people who tested positive don’t know how they got it,” Gov. Cooper said. “This order may lead to even more hardships and heartache. Many of you are doing what you’re already suppose to do.”

Click Here To See A List Of Frequently Asked Questions 

The Governor said more than 200,000 unemployment claims directly related to COVID-19 have been filed with the NC Division of Employment Security Commission. The first benefits will be paid next week.  “I’ll do everything in my power to try and cushion the economic blow. We will not forget those who have lost their livelihoods in this crisis.”

Essential businesses that will be allowed to remain open will not have to have any extra credentials or permits to operate.  Violation of the statewide Stay at Home Order is a misdemeanor.  Law enforcement and district attorneys have the discretion to charge individuals who do not follow the order.

The order will remain in place for 30 days, until April 29, 2020.