Harris Loses Reelection To Smithfield Town Council

Smithfield voters elected two new members to the town council on Election Day and returned 2 of the 3 incumbents. Four council seats were up for election along with the mayor.

District 2
In the District 2 town council race, incumbent Perry Harris was defeated by challenger David Stevens. Stevens received 211 votes to Harris’ 154 votes in unofficial results. Tim Johnson who withdrew from the race, but his name still appeared on the ballot, received 19 votes.

District 2 represents the South Smithfield area.

District 1
Incumbent Marlon Lee won reelection to his second term on the Smithfield town council representing East Smithfield by defeated two challengers. Lee received 145 votes in unofficial results to 61 votes for Ava Atkinson Gaines and 4 votes for Kevin Peacock.

District 3
District 3 incumbent Travis Scott was unopposed on the ballot. Scott received 82 votes. A total of 14 write-in votes were cast for the District 3 seat representing North Smithfield.

District 4
West Smithfield has a new elected official. David R. Barbour won the District 4 seat. Barbour was unopposed on the ballot and received 61 of the votes cast. There were 7 write-in candidates for District 4.

One term incumbent Roger Wood did not seek reelection.

Mayor Andy Moore was unopposed at the polls.

Moore received 667 votes. 29 write-in names for mayor were received.