JCPS Names 2019 Bus Driver Of The Year

Johnston County Public Schools named West Johnston Area bus driver Kathy Wood as the 2019 Bus Driver of the Year. Photographed (from left) are JCPS Director of Transportation Supervisor Sherrie Turnage, JCPS 2019 Bus Driver of the Year Kathy Wood, JCPS Bus Coordinator for the West Johnston Area Kim Smith, Dixon Road Elementary Principal Kenneth Bennett, and JCPS Auxiliary Services and Safety Officer Chase Ferrell.

West Johnston Area bus driver Kathy Wood was named the 2019 Johnston County Public Schools Bus Driver of the Year.

“There is only one word to use for Kathy Wood, and that is ‘perfection,’ said Sharon Fogleman, Transportation Supervisor for Johnston County Public Schools. “She is the total package and someone to emulate as a JCPS employee.”

Wood also serves as a teacher assistant at Dixon Road Elementary and is known for working well with students of all ages and building relationships with them.

Wood’s colleagues say she is always willing to go the extra mile to lend a helping hand to others. She is described as a hard worker, who is caring, reliable, safe, and good at her job.