Johnston Commissioners Take Oaths, Stewart Selected As Board Chairman

The Johnston County Board of Commissioners held Oath of Office ceremonies this morning (Monday) for four commissioners.

Commissioner Tony Braswell received his oath from Chief Resident Superior Court Judge Tom Lock.  Commissioners Chad Stewart, Ted Godwin and Fred Smith received their oaths from Clerk of Court Michelle Ball.

The board selected Commissioner Stewart as Chairman for 2021.  Larry Wood was selected as board vice chair.  Chairman Stewart said it was 22 years ago today,  December 7, 1998,  that his father, former Commissioner Wade Stewart, was sworn in to office after winning election for the first time.