Mayoral Race Decided by 4 Votes

The race for Newton Grove mayor was decided by only four votes on Tuesday.

Former Mayor Gerald Darden proved victorious over Stephen Jackson.

Mr. Darden received 65 votes — or 51.59 percent of the vote — while Mr. Jackson received 61. There were 126 total ballots cast in Newton Grove.

Incumbent commissioner Alan Herring and newcomer Cody Smith were unopposed in their bids for town board. Newton Grove Mayor Barbara Burch and Commissioner Laura Wheeler did not file for re-election this year.