Oath of Office Ceremony Held For Elected Officials

Johnston County’s elected officials who won offices in the Nov. 6th election were officials sworn in to their seats on Monday at the Johnston County Courthouse in Smithfield.

Over 100 people attended the 8:30am ceremony in the Historic Superior Courtroom.  Senior Resident Superior Court Judge Thomas H. Lock presided over the ceremonies.

Rev. John Norman Jr. from the First Baptist Church in Four Oaks gave the invocation.  The Johnston County Marine League Carry On Detachment 1236 presented the Colors and Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk of Superior Court Michelle Ball recognized the guests in attendance. Mrs. Ball was the first to receive her Oath, which was presented by Judge Lock.

Clerk of Court Michelle Ball receives her Oath from Judge Thomas Lock

Clerk of Court Michelle Ball is sworn into office by Judge Thomas LockNext, Sheriff Steve Bizzell received his Oath from Judge Lock.  Bizzell is now in his 6th term.

Sheriff Steve Bizzell receives his oath from Judge Thomas Lock.

Register of Deeds Craig Olive received his Oath from Judge Jackie Lee.

Register of Deeds Craig Olive receives is Oath from Judge Jackie Lee.

Four county commissioners took their oaths: Chad Stewart and Tony Braswell were sworn-in by Judge Joy Jones. Patrick Harris and Butch Lawter received their oaths from Judge Paul Holcombe.

Commissioner Chad Stewart who won re-election receives his new Oath from District Court Judge Joy Jones
Commissioner Tony Braswell is sworn into office by District Court Judge Joy Jones
Former Clayton town councilman and newly-elected County Commissioner R.S. “Butch” Lawter receives his Oath from Judge Paul Holcombe

Newly elected school board member Terri Sessoms received her oath from Benson Mayor Jerry Medlin.   School board member Traci Zukowski was sworn in by Clerk of Court Ball.

School board member Terri Sessoms receives her Oath from Benson Mayor Jerry Medlin
School board member Traci Zukowski is sworn in to her 4 year term by Clerk of Court Michelle Ball

Mrs. Ball then swore in two members to the Soil and Water Conservation District, Douglas Lee and Donald Rogers. John Langdon received his oath for another term on the Soil & Water District from Judge Lock.

Rev. Lee Colbert, pastor at First Baptist Church in Smithfield, gave the benediction. Judge Lock then adjourned the special ceremony.

School Board member Todd Sutton, who won election on Nov. 6th, was out of state and unable to attend Monday’s proceedings.  He will receive his oath in a ceremony scheduled for Friday.