School Board Chairman Announces Resignation

Johnston County School Board Chairman Larry Strickland announced Friday he would formally resign from the board on Dec. 13th. Strickland won election to the NC House in November. Strickland has two years remaining on his term on the school board. His replacement has not been named. Photo

Johnston County School Board Chairman Larry Strickland of Pine Level announced Friday that he will resign from the board during the December monthly meeting scheduled for next Tuesday.

Strickland is currently serving his fifth term.  He recently won election to the NC House District 28 replacing retiring Representative J.H. Langdon who did not seek re-election.  Strickland cannot serve on both the school board and NC House at the same time.  His resignation was anticipated after his win in the November general elections.

“It is my intention to resign from the Johnston County Board of Education near the conclusion of our meeting that will be held on December 13, 2016. The vacancy of the seat will be immediate, therefore giving the board an opportunity to discuss its “announcement of vacancy” while the board is still in session,” Strickland said Friday afternoon in an email.

“I have enjoyed my 18 years of service to the citizens of Johnston County as a member of the Board of Education, especially the last eight years. It has been a great privilege for me to have served alongside with 16 other board members during my tenure, who all worked hard for the people of Johnston County, especially its children.”

“I look forward to working with this current board of education in my capacity as a member of the North Carolina House of Representatives. I wish this current board of education much success as they continue to build upon the great tradition of our school system here in Johnston County, which is recognized as one of the best in the State of North Carolina.”

The school board could name a replacement for Strickland as early as Tuesday or a new chairperson.  Strickland’s term does not expire until November 2018.

Strickland will assume his duties in the NC House on January 1st, 2017.