South Johnston Honors 1974 Title Team

Members of the 1974 South Johnston girls basketball team are seen at the school Friday during a 50th anniversary ceremony, honoring the program’s lone state championship. From left are head coach Thomas Jackson, Christy Adams, Genia Beasley, Paula Bledsoe, Margerie Covington, Tanya DuPree, Annette Hassell, Betty McNeil, Jan Smith, Wanda Watkins, Renee Wood, Debbie Woodall, Cathy Carter and Serena Rose. The group defeated Williamson in the state final to cap a 28-1 season.

Dunn Daily Record Photo courtesy Paul Burgett

Leave a Reply