Two New Troopers Assigned To Johnston County 

State Highway Patrol Graduates 42 New Troopers

RALEIGH – The State Highway Patrol proudly welcomed 42 new troopers at a graduation ceremony held for the 150th Basic Highway Patrol School.  The ceremony ended what was a truly unique Patrol School experience as much of the training was forced to adapt due to COVID-19 safety protocols.

The closed ceremony was held at the State Bureau of Investigation auditorium on Friday.  The oath of office was administered by Judge Toby Hampson of the North Carolina Court of Appeals.  NCDPS Secretary Erik Hooks and Colonel G. M. McNeill Jr., the 27th Commander of the State Highway Patrol, provided remarks to the newest sworn members of the State Highway Patrol.

“The highest ethical standards should govern every aspect of law enforcement and true justice demands equal treatment for all racial and ethnic groups,” said Secretary Hooks. “So, as you face the challenges of law enforcement, I am always reminded we are blessed with the opportunity to do some good in this world.”

Two of the new troopers will be assigned to Johnston County and work out of the Smithfield District Office. They include Trooper R.D. Garrett from Wayne County and Trooper B.J. Stewart from New Hanover County.

All the cadets will report to their respective duty stations across the state on June 17th to begin a demanding field training program.