WCC Honor Society Inducts New Members

Wayne Community College student Tanya Avila-Diaz watches her fellow inductees receive their certificates, sign their names in the Upsilon Chi chapter record book, and light their candles during the recent Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society induction ceremony at the college.

Wayne Community College’s Upsilon Chi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, inducted 101 members in its fall ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa members represent the top 10 percent of students enrolled in two-year schools. To be invited into the society, WCC students must show academic achievement with a minimum grade point average of 3.5 and have completed at least 16 hours of associate degree course work. They also must demonstrate good citizenship characteristics.

The guest speaker for the ceremony was Melissa Shay, Wayne UNC Health Care’s vice president of strategy and business development.

In her talk, she referenced the four designated “hallmarks” of Phi Theta Kappa – scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service “As leaders, we all need to focus on building relationships, being authentic, and working toward change,” Shay said.

Leadership “comes down to two simple, yet critical components: competence and character” and “along with our character comes integrity,” she told the inductees. “You have all clearly illustrated that in your accomplishments thus far.”

“We’re so fortunate to have you here in Wayne County, excited and inspired to make positive change for our community and generations to come,” Shay said.

The inductees and their majors, listed by hometown, are

Alejandro Rios, Simulation and Game Development

Maygon Johnson, Medical Laboratory

Chelsi Hogue, Associate Degree Nursing

Sabrina Blackmon, Applied Animal Science;
Lance Clark, Associate in Engineering;
Holly Crocker, Associate in Arts;
Jasmine Ham, Associate in Arts; and
Laurie Huerta, Medical Assisting;
Rosemarie Morgan-Parks, Associate in Arts; and
Karina Velasquez-Galindo, Associate in Arts and Associate in Science

Alyssa Martens, Associate in Science; and
Byron Smith, Computer-Integrated Machining

Tanya Avila-Diaz, Associate in Science;
Robin Barfield, Associate in Arts;
Matthew Baum, Associate in Science;
Michael Bloom, Cybersecurity;
Brooke Boyd, Associate in Arts;
Danielle Bright, Early Childhood Education;
Sharlene Bryant, Associate in Arts;
Kimberly Cameron, Early Childhood Education;
Megan Casey, Associate in Arts;
Sharita Dixon, Business Administration;
Bryona Dortch, Business Administration;
Shyann Dussault, Medical Assisting;
Madeline Dutton, Medical Laboratory;
Mary Edwards, Associate in Science;
Samantha Eovine, Associate in Arts;
Stephen Finch, Associate in Arts;
Natalia Garcia, Associate in Arts;
Charlie Graham, Mechatronics Engineering;
Naemia Hanshali, Medical Office Administration;
Monique Hawkins, Associate in Arts;
Matthew Hinson, Simulation and Game Development;
Katlin Hutchinson, Associate in Arts;
Daphka Joseph, Associate in Arts;
Cori Keen, Associate in Arts;
Amanda Kelly, Associate in General Education – Nursing;
Shannon Kennedy, Business Administration/Operations Management;
Josie Klages, Associate in Arts;
Shamra Lancaster, Medical Office Administration;
Jojo Li, Associate in Arts;
Rubi Lutze, Associate in General Education – Nursing;
Logan Matthews, Associate in Science;
Melissa Millen, Human Services;
Micah Mooring, Associate in Arts;
Mical Mooring, Associate in Arts;
Lizette Orozco-Perez, Associate in Arts;
Debra Pruitt, Associate in Arts;
Tyler Records, Associate in Arts;
Tiffany Riascos, Associate in Science;
Luis Enrique Rivera, Associate in Engineering;
Jesseca Shaw, Medical Laboratory;
Sherilyn Shofner, Early Childhood Education;
William Spence, Industrial Systems;
Evan Stahl, Associate in Science;
Edward Tatum, Associate in Arts;
Dustin Thigpen, Associate in Arts;
Jose Alfonzo Torres, Associate in Arts;
Marisa Tuey, Business Administration;
Emma Walker, Mechanical Engineering;
Charles Wright, Associate in Arts;
Tony Woodard, Mechanical Engineering; and
Eden Yousif, Associate in Arts;

Doris Learo, Office Administration

Heather Anderson, Business Administration; and
Nideya Brown, Associate in Science;

Chrisa Napier, Associate in Science

La Grange
Emily Dougan, Simulation and Game Development;
Gabriel Luna-Cervantes, Associate in Arts;
Maia Mitchell, Associate in Arts; and
Carla Wade, Associate in Arts

Jessica Braswell, Applied Animal Science; and
Joy Price, Associate in Arts

Mount Olive
Mary Gaines, Business Administration/Operations Management;
Dewight Garner, Associate in Arts;
Becky Grady, Medical Office Administration;
James Heath, Associate in Arts;
Cinthya Lujano-Lopez, Associate in Arts;
Patrick Surles, Associate in Arts;
Karlie Wells, Associate in Arts; and
Daniel Wiggins, Associate in Science

New Bern
Hunter Allen, Automotive Systems

Mindy Xiong Byrd, Associate in Science

Mary-Vivian Bowen, Associate in Arts;
Hannah Carter, Business Administration;
Matthew Desrochers, Associate in Arts;
Riley Lancaster, Associate in Arts;
Brody Morton, Associate in Science;
Mariam Nagi, Medical Assisting;
Daniel Sasser, Associate in Arts; and
Emily Tran, Associate in Science

Antwan Short, Associate in Arts

Christopher Mise, Emergency Management

Noah Brown, Associate in Arts

Seven Springs
Jennifer Morales-Valente, Associate in Arts;
Viviana Ponce, Associate in Science;
Jurney Rouse, Associate in Arts; and
Melissa Soria, Accounting and Finance

Matthew Baker, Information Technology Business Support

Snow Hill
Alanna Tyndall, Associate in Arts

William Anderson, Turfgrass Management

Rosemarie Morgan-Parks glances at the program during the recent induction ceremony at Wayne Community College. She was one of 101 WCC students who met the requirements for membership in the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society of the Two-Year Colleges and chose to join.

About Phi Theta Kappa
Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recognizes the academic achievement of college students and provides opportunities for its members to grow as scholars and leaders. Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa has a presence on almost 1,300 community college campuses in 11 nations. The American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges in 1929. More than 3.5 million students have been inducted since 1918, with approximately 250,000 active members in the nation’s community colleges.

A full 91 percent of Phi Theta Kappa members will complete an associate degree or transfer to a four-year college, compared to just 38 percent of students nationally. Members have access to nearly $90 million in scholarships, can gain leadership experience, and can learn essential workplace skills employers seek.

About Wayne Community College
Wayne Community College is a public, learning-centered institution with an open-door admission policy located in Goldsboro, N.C. As it works to develop a highly skilled and competitive workforce, the college serves 11,000 individuals annually as well as businesses, industry, and community organizations with high quality, affordable, accessible learning opportunities, including more than 140 college credit programs. WCC’s mission is to meet the educational, training, and cultural needs of the communities it serves.