WJHS Named ‘SADD Chapter of the Year’ For 4th Consecutive Year

West Johnston High School’s chapter of Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) was named Chapter of the Year for the 4th consecutive year at the annual state conference that took place Nov. 16-18. Club members who were photographed on the front row (from left) are Paola Diaz, Cheyenne Otero, Ellie Stephenson, Romario Crisanto, Chloe Harlow, Nicholas Wilson, Jordan Rogers, Olivia Matthew, Maddie Betz, Jordan Biggs, and Jack Schweizer. Those photographed on the back row (from left) are Grayson Betz, Cassidy Dellinger, Kyle Denning, Scott Carroll, and Josh Harlow.

The West Johnston High Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) club took home top honors for the fourth consecutive year at the annual NC State SADD Conference.

The West Johnston High SADD club submitted an application that noted all of the different projects and activities that the school has done throughout the year.

The WJHS SADD chapter works on projects and activities throughout the school year that promote good decisions in the school and in the community, according to the club’s adviser, Amanda Fisher.

“The key to the club’s success is that we set a goal to complete two activities a month,” said Fisher. “We do more when we are able, but we always stay focused as a team and work toward achieving this initial objective with a high level of commitment.”

Additionally, one of the club’s members, Nicholas Wilson, was named SADD Student of the Year for his work and commitment on the state advisory board and his dedication to the school’s chapter.

WJHS had two students, Nicholas Wilson and Romario Crisanto, serve on the State SADD Student Advisory Board this year. They used many hours of their free time to plan a successful and engaging conference.