Wooten Selected Chairman Of School Board

(Right to left) Newly elected School Board Chairman Mike Wooten of Princeton and Vice Chairperson Dorothy Johnson of Clayton pose for a picture Tuesday after Wooten was unanimously elected as the new school board chairperson. Johnson was unanimously re-elected as vice chair for another year. JoCoReport.com Photo

The Johnston County School Board has a new chairperson.  Following the resignation of longtime chairman Larry Strickland, who stepped down from the board Tuesday after winning election to the NC House, Mike Wooten of Princeton was unanimously selected as the new chair.

Wooten said it was humbling to serve on the school board and accepted the position of chairperson on behalf of all the hardworking teachers and school employees.  Wooten said there were many challenges but it was important to face them with a positive attitude. Among the challenges include dealing with the rapid growth of the county and the need for new school buildings, teacher pay, and preparing students for the next level whether it be the workforce or college.

After Wooten’s selection, the Board nominated Dorothy Johnson of Clayton to serve another year as Vice Chairman.

Wooten has been a member of the board since 2008, and Johnson has served the on the board since 1998.