46 Camels Named To PFL Academic Honor Roll

Buies Creek – The Pioneer Football League has named 46 Campbell student-athletes to its 2017 academic honor roll.

In all, the PFL recognized a total of 585 student-athletes from its 11 member institutions to the 2017 PFL Academic Honor Roll.

PFL athletic directors and coaches established the honor roll as a way to recognize the league’s outstanding student-athletes. The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in football at member institutions during the fall semester and posted a 3.0 grade-point average or higher during the semester while enrolled full-time in accordance with NCAA rules.

James Blackman

Redshirt seniors James Blackman and Scott Miller made the list for the fifth time in their careers. Since joining the PFL in 2008, eight Camels have earned spots on the PFL Academic Honor Roll five times.

Mitchell Brown, Thomas Hartshorn and Ethan Pierson were also honored for the fourth time in their careers.   Sophomore Michael Wooten of Princeton was among the 46 named to the academic honor roll.

Eight Camels took their third conference academic honor roll nod, while nine placed on the list for the second time. There were 24 first time honorees, including 14 true freshmen.

Scott Miller

Campbell finished 2017 at 6-5 overall and 5-3 in its final season of PFL play, matching the program’s best overall and conference records in its 10 year history. 2018 will mark Campbell’s first as a member of the Big South Conference in football.

The Camels set 16 team single-season school records in 2017, plus 19 individual single-season marks on the way to their historic season. Additionally, CU set Barker-Lane Stadium records for average, total and single-game attendance for the second straight season.

The Camels open 2018 at Barker-Lane Stadium on August 30, hosting Chowan.

Mason Adams, Fr., Homeland Security
James Blackman, R-Sr., Trust and Wealth Management
Aaron Blockmon, R-Jr., Exercise and Sport Science
Ryan Brooker, Fr., Business Administration
Mitchell Brown, Sr., Biology Pre Medicine
Isaiah Burch, Fr., Exercise and Sport Science
Lance Cook, Fr., Trust and Wealth Management/ Pre Law
Khalil Dixon, R-So., Mass Communications
Aaron Dobbins, R-Fr., Biochemistry
Adrian Dorsey, R-Jr., Mass Communications
Triston Frye, R-Jr., Trust and Wealth Management
Colin Gary, R-So., Trust and Wealth Management
Zach Hall, Fr., Information Technology Security
Thomas Hartshorn, R-Jr., Business Administration
Tyrek Haywood, Fr., Trust and Wealth Management
Deontae Henderson, R-So., Biology in Pre-Dental Studies
Dorian Jones, Fr., Trust and Wealth Management
Joshua Jones, R-So., Sport Management
Geoffrey Leins, R-Jr., Sport Management
Shuler Littleton, R-Jr., Economics
Matthew Melvin, Fr., Mass Communications
Scott Miller, R-Sr., Interdisciplinary Studies
Jamah Mitchell, R-Fr., Undecided
Trevin Muse, Fr., Criminal Justice
Prince Ngwenah, Fr., Business Administration
Ethan Pierson, R-Jr., Kinesiology Physical Therapy
Austin Pluckhorn, R-Fr., Criminal Justice
Matt Price, R-So., Exercise and Sport Science
Keegan Ruark, Fr., Homeland Security
Jack Ryan, R-Jr., Trust and Wealth Management
Trevor Sheets, R-Jr., Trust and Wealth Management 4+1
Tyler Shirley, R-Sr., Master in Business
Darion Slade, So., Mass Communications
Daniel Smith, R-Fr., Trust and Wealth Management/ Pre Law
Demitrius Spury, R-Fr., Graphic Design
Greg Streater, Fr., Business Administration
Brian Stryffeler, R-Sr., Exercise and Sport Science
Campbell Tarpey, R-Fr., Trust and Wealth Management/ Pre Law
Keshawn Thompson, Fr., Business Administration
Sam Thorne, Fr., Political Science/ Pre Law
Chris Webb, R-So., Trust and Wealth Management
Zane Weekman, R-Jr., History with Teacher Licensure
Eric Westbrook, R-Jr., Trust and Wealth Management
Jeremiah White, R-Fr., Exercise and Sport Science
Levi Wiggins , R-Fr., Trust and Wealth Management
Michael Wooten, R-So., Kinesiology Physical Therapy