CTSO Students Recognized By School Board

Corinth Holders High students in DECA who will compete at the national level on the front row (from left) are Marrah Ste. Marie, Bella Pettit, Guendlynn Grimmick, and Jessica Dunn. Those recognized on the second row (from left) are Nick Eberwein, Emma Faulkner, Ashley Shabo, and Matthew Williamson.

The Johnston County Board of Education recognized students in Career and Technical Student Organizations (CTSO) that will compete in national CTSO competitions in the coming months. CTSOs are considered an integral part of instruction in Career and Technical Education (CTE) classrooms. CSTOs contribute to the attainment of curriculum competencies and are supervised by qualified and licensed CTE personnel. JCPS CTSOs are affiliated with state and national organizations. 

Johnston County Public Schools had 52 students place at state level competitions and earn the right to represent North Carolina in their respective National CSTO competitions. Students in DECA, HOSA, FBLA, and ProStart will represent JCPS at the national level in competitions in Orlando, Fla., Washington, D.C., and San Antonio, Texas in the next few months.

JCPS students who will compete in national CTSO competitions who were not photographed are Corinth Holders High students Isaac Dailey, Noah Evenson, Meghan Patrick, Landen Chavez, Matthew Lee, Joey Iorio, Andrew Messick, Caroline Sanders, Kaylee Johnston, and Alyssa Wallawender, as well as West Johnston High students Tonya DeBlasio, Oscar Liu, Steven Babel, Taylor Arnold, Kayla Gilchrist, Kamryn Potteiger, Kyle Denning, Cheyenne Otero, Sarah Ford, Landry Connors, Jack Schweizer, Katherine Rentz, Nichola Wilcox, and Ainsley Underwood.