Johnston County School Board Votes To Return To Plan B

A divided Johnston County school board voted Tuesday night to return all Pre-K and EC-Self Contained students to Plan B (four days per week) on Tuesday, Jan. 19.

K-12 students will remain on Plan C until Feb. 1. At that time they will return to Plan B. On Feb. 1, students in grades 6-12 will resume Plan B and elementary school students will return to school on Plan B (elementary schools were on Plan A prior to December 14, 2020).

Plan B for K-12 students will follow a two cohort model. Each cohort attends face-to-face instruction two days per week. The other three days of the week will be remote. Students that opted for virtual learning for the spring semester will remain virtual.

The board voted 4-to-3 last night to approve Plan B.  Board members Lyn Andrews, Ronald Johnson, Mike Wooten and Chairman Todd Sutton voted for Plan B.  Members Kay Carroll, Traci  Zukowski and Terri Sessoms voted against.

Initially, Mr. Carroll made a motion to remain on Plan C through the end of the third quarter (March 12) but the motion failed 3-to-4 with Andrews, Johnson, Wooten and Sutton voting against.