Johnston County, Four Oaks Awarded Coronavirus Grants

Coronavirus Grants Awarded to 34 Communities

$26.8 million in aid to rural North Carolina in COVID-19 response

RALEIGH – Nearly $27 million in grants has been awarded to 34 municipal and county governments in North Carolina in response to the adverse economic and public health impacts of COVID-19, Governor Roy Cooper announced.

The federal funds are being distributed through the Community Development Block Grant Coronavirus (CDBG-CV) program to assist local governments with subsistence payments to prevent evictions and utility disconnections in their communities.

In addition to public utilities and rent assistance, the funds will also provide public facilities support with broadband, communications, and the rehabilitation of buildings as well as financial assistance to small businesses with fewer than 100 employees and micro-enterprises with no more than five employees.

“Our communities need help in recovering from the pandemic and these funds will help with some of their immediate needs,” said Governor Cooper.

Funded through the federal CARES Act by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), the North Carolina CDBG-CV grantees include:

Ashe County
Buncombe County
Elizabeth City
Four Oaks
Graham County
Granite Falls
Haywood County
Johnston County
Martin County
Nash County
Orange County
Pitt County
Richmond County
Rockingham County
Rutherford County
Tyrell County
Watauga County
Wilson County
Wilson City
Yancey County

“Supporting North Carolina’s smaller communities and businesses is critical for our state’s economic recovery,” said N.C. Commerce Secretary Machelle Sanders. “These grantees will be able to provide emergency payment assistance for families who desperately need relief due to the pandemic, as well as receive financial support to expand the economic revitalization efforts in their communities.”

The funds will be administered by the North Carolina Department of Commerce Rural Economic Development Division.