Ronald Johnson Files For Second Term On Johnston County School Board

More than 50 supporters join Ronald Johnson at the Board of Elections Office in Smithfield on Thursday, Dec. 19, 2019 as he formally files for a second term on the Johnston County School Board. Photo

Joined by more than 50 of his supporters, Ronald Johnson of Clayton filed this afternoon (Thursday) for his second term on the Johnston County School Board.

“I think the public wants me to remain on the Board of Education. I have received a lot of support over the past four years and appreciate every person who has been there for me throughout this journey. My former students, family, and the public have kept me going when it seemed like I was fighting alone. If the public looks at my voting record, they will see I have been trying for the past three years to make a positive difference. I think voting against the central office pay increases, against adding central office personnel, and against West and South Smithfield Elementary calendar changes and against the Selma Middle School Mascot change shows I am capable of being a voice of reason and common sense,” Johnson said.

“We have accomplished a lot of things I campaigned for in 2016. There are more school resource officers protecting our students. This was the number one priority when I ran for the Board of Education. We still need more police officers in schools. I will continue to push for police officers in all Johnston County Schools. Johnston County Public Schools has fire academies, to help young people get a head start on a career as a fire fighter, something I proposed in January 2016.”

“Now, I want to implement my Johnston County Schools Superhero Initiative, a literacy program I designed to improve reading comprehension and help students develop a positive relationship with police officers. I have already obtained funding for the program and will use my salary to pay for whatever the funding does not cover,” Johnson said.

Ronald Johnson of Clayton is joined by supporters at the Board of Elections Office on Thursday, Dec. 19, 2019 as he formally files for his second term on the Johnston County Board of Education. Photo

“My goal has not changed; help students, families, and staff. My number one priority is doing what is right and being fair. It is always darkest before the dawn and JCPS is facing some tough times right now. I know we can make it through and get the school system on the right track.”

“Currently, there is a lot of negativity in Johnston County Public Schools. I want to do what is right for the students and staff. The public display of conflict may not seem in the best interest of the school system, but I assure the public I am doing what is right and protecting people. In regards to the allegations of corruption and incompetency, I am telling the truth. If you don’t believe me, you will soon enough,” Johnson told JoCoReport.

“A lot of times I felt alone in the board room. However, anytime I am in public, people always come up and tell me how much they appreciate what I am doing and give me words of encouragement. People, not politics, are why I am still in the game. If it wasn’t for ordinary hard working people, I would not have any help. They are the backbone of what I stand for and who I represent. I appreciate all of the support and will continue to fight for what is right in Johnston County.”

As of 5:00pm Thursday, a total of 11 candidates have filed for four seats on the School Board.  With 11 or more candidates now in the school board race, a primary will be required to narrow the field to 8. (If fewer than 11 candidates had filed a primary would not have been required.) The primary will be held on March 3, 2020 and the general election will take place on Nov. 3, 2020.

The 11 candidates include:  Kelly O’Hanlon Peedin, Melynda Slay, Lyn Andrews, Teresa Grant, Kay Carroll, Kenon Crumble, Ava Atkinson Gaines, Mark Lane, Chuck Williams, Carolyn Cash, and Ronald Johnson.

The filing period for the Johnston County School Board and other local offices remains open through Noon on Friday, Dec. 20th.