Johnson Leads Ticket In School Board Race

Incumbent school board member Ronald Johnson of Clayton led the ticket Tuesday in the race for the Johnston County Board of Education.

Incumbent Mike Wooten also won, while incumbent Teresa Grant lost her bid for another four year term.

Eight candidates were on the ballot seeking four seats up for election.

Mr. Johnson received 52,718 votes (17%). Lyn Andrews finished second with 47,760 votes (15%). Kay Carroll picked up the third seat with 42,653 votes (13%). Incumbent Mike Wooten won reelection and secured the fourth seat with 41,530 votes (13%) in unofficial results.

Challenger Terry Tippett received 39,974 votes (13%), Teresa Grant 35,484 (11%), Dr. Chuck Williams 30,369 (10%) and Rick Mercier 24,076 (8%).

All results are unofficial until they are certified Nov. 13th by the Johnston County Board of Elections.