Johnston Students Receive NC State Fair Youth Livestock Scholarships

25 students awarded $1,000 each; one receives $1,500

RALEIGH – Twenty-six North Carolina students have been named recipients of 2021 N.C. State Fair Youth Livestock Scholarships, Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler announced.

The scholarships are designed for high school seniors and students currently enrolled in an institute of higher education who have participated in the junior livestock or market turkey shows at the N.C. State Fair.

The scholarships are typically funded by sponsors of the annual N.C. State Fair Junior Livestock Sale of Champions. Sponsors stepped up in 2020 to support the youth scholarships because the sale was not held due to the pandemic. A total of 25 scholarships valued at $1,000 each were awarded this year. One $1,500 scholarship was also offered and paid for by Farm Credit of North Carolina.

“As Agriculture Commissioner, I am proud to help cultivate the future of agriculture in our state through these scholarships,” Troxler said. “We are proud to have awarded over $300,000 in scholarships since starting this program in 2015.”

A selection committee evaluated applicants based on their involvement with N.C. State Fair junior livestock shows, academic achievement, extracurricular activities and an essay. Each application was assigned a number and identifying information was removed before evaluation.

The following is a list of the scholarship recipients by county, along with the university or community college they will attend this fall:

-Tanner Bentley, UNC Chapel Hill or N.C. State University
-Isabell Fricke, N.C. State University
-Kadence Overby, Oklahoma State University
-Mary Wood, Oklahoma State University

– Mason Blinson, Oklahoma State University

– Mason Judy, N.C. State University

– Taylor Glover, University of Mount Olive

– Thaddeus Sharp, V, N.C. State University
– Ethan Thompson, University of Georgia

– Madison Sifford, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

-Katherine Eastep, Blinn College

– Rex Howard, N.C. State University

-Lakota Sockwell, N.C. State University

-Zachary Keeter, N.C. State University

-Haley Hargus, Mars Hill University

-Emily Holland, UNC Greensboro

-Regan Mitchum, N.C. State University

-Rylee Schofield, University of Mount Olive

-Cynthia Connolly, N.C. State University

– Marcie Harward, N.C. State University
– Mattie Harward, N.C. State University

-Lynae Bowman, Redlands Community College
-Rachel Brown, University of Florida
-Allison Hartman, Belmont Abbey or N.C. State University

-Abbegail King, Clemson University

The $1,500 Farm Credit Premium Scholarship winner was Tristen Fulton of Davidson. He will be attending Iowa State University.