Semifinalists For 2022 JCPS Teacher Of The Year Award Announced

The Triangle East Chamber of Commerce announced the 20 semifinalists for the Flame for Learning Award.

Because of the importance of teachers in developing and educating children, the Triangle East Chamber of Commerce adopted the Flame For Learning Award. Their goal is to support and elevate the teaching profession in the public schools. This award recognizes outstanding creativity and innovation in the classroom and nominees are selected strictly on merit, without regard to school or residence.

The 2022 Flame for Learning semifinalists represent 18 schools, showcasing great educators from all over Johnston County.

The 20 semifinalists are:

Amanda Astoske – Smithfield-Selma High
Jennifer Beninate – Four Oaks Elementary
LiAnn Cheong – Riverwood Elementary
Maria Eby – Dixon Road Elementary
Kristine Gear – Innovation Academy
Shannon Gibson – Pine Level Elementary
Rachel Hardin – West View Elementary
Beverly Harper – Smithfield Middle
Lee Hudson – West Johnston High
Amanda Jackson – South Smithfield Elementary
Carlos Jimenez – Selma Middle
Gail Lawhorn – River Dell Elementary
Will Marshall – West Johnston High
Karen Newhart – Riverwood Elementary
Melissa Pearce – Cleveland High
Meredith Rakowski – Clayton High
Patience Spivey – Smithfield Middle
Robin Tingle – Thanksgiving Elementary
Abigail Valdes – Cooper Elementary
Brandy Williams – Selma Elementary

The Flame for Learning Award is presented by Chick-fil-A of Smithfield. Through a nomination process, teachers in Johnston County were invited to submit a “best idea or practice” used by that teacher. The winner of the Flame for Learning award will represent Johnston County in the regional competition.

Johnston County’s Teacher of the Year will be named at the 28th Annual Triangle East Flame for Learning Award Ceremony on April 26, 2022.