Filing Period Ends For Most Races; Deadline Extended 1 Week After No One Files For Mayor

The filing period for most municipal offices in Johnston County concluded at twelve noon Friday, July 16th with the exception of mayor in one local town. No one filed for the open mayoral seat in the Town of Wilson’s Mills. Following an emergency meeting by the Johnston County Board of Elections at 1:00pm today, officials agreed to extend the deadline for applicants for mayor until Friday, July 23rd at Noon. (With the exception of the Town of Smithfield, the filing deadline concluded at Noon today.)

Archer Lodge
In Archer Lodge, incumbent town council members Teresa Bruton and Mark Wilson filed for reelection to their seats. No one filed in opposition.

In Benson, Mayor Jerry Medlin filed for reelection. He has no opposition in November.

Three seats are up for election on the Benson town board. Incumbents Maxine Holley and William Neighbors filed for another four year term. Will T. Chandler filed for the third seat.

Six candidates have filed for three open seats on the Clayton Town Council. They include Andria Archer, Porter Casey Jr., Alsey Gilbert, Michael Sims, Bob Satterfield and incumbent Michael Grannis.

Incumbents Art Holder and Bobby Bunn did not file for reelection.

Four Oaks
In Four Oaks, where Mayor Linwood Parker did file for reelection this year, Commissioner Vic Medlin, who filed for the mayoral seat, will be unopposed in November.

Town commissioners John Hatch and Mike Hines filed for reelection to their two respective seats without opposition.

Three people have filed for the mayoral seat in Kenly. Mayor Bonnie Williamson did not seek another term. Herbert Hales, David Grady and Thomas Wood are seeking the mayor’s seat.

On the town board, where two seats are up for reelection, Mark Smith and incumbent Trinity Henderson filed.

All four incumbents in Micro will return without opposition this year. Mayor Walter (Jay) Warren Jr., and three commissioners – Russell Creech, Marty Parnell and Kevin Worley – filed for new terms.

Pine Level
Pine Level Mayor Jay Holt and all four incumbent commissioners won’t have any opposition this Fall. Mayor Holt is unopposed for another term.

Incumbent commissioners Greg Baker, Jimmy Garner, Phil Pittman and Bill Radford filed for new terms.

In the Town of Princeton, four candidates have filed for two commission seats. Michael Holmes, incumbent Broderick Robinson, Ashley Boyette, and Jimmy Tart Jr. filed before the deadline. Commissioner Scottie Brown did not seek another term.

Mayor Donald Raines is unopposed.

In Selma, a new mayor will be elected in November. Mayor Cheryl Oliver did not seek another term. Councilman Byron McAllister filed for mayor and will be unopposed.

Eight residents have filed for two council seats. Monica Antes, Tommy Holmes, Kayla Jentes-Sagester, Troy LaPlante, Bruce McKay, William Overby, Amy Whitley and Richard Nixon have filed.

The two incumbents, Jackie Lacy and Ann Williams, did not seek reelection.

Wilson’s Mills
In Wilson’s Mills, no one filed for Mayor. The Elections Board voted to extend the deadline to file by one week and will seek applications through 12 Noon Friday, July 23rd. Phillip Wright has been the acting mayor since Jim Uzzle resigned in March 2021. Wright did not file for the office.

All three incumbent Wilson’s Mills commissioners – Randy Jernigan, David McGowan and Timothy Brown – do not have any opponents.

Brown was appointed to the town board this spring to fill the unexpired term of Commissioner Wright who was appointed the interim mayor.

In the Town of Smithfield, where the council seats are elected by district, a delay in census data has postponed the filing period from November 17 to December 6, 2021 with the elections taking place March 8, 2022.

The seats of four council members and Mayor Andy Moore are up for election. They include the seats of District 1 councilman Marlon Lee, District 2 councilman David Stevens, District 3 councilman Travis Scott, and District 4 councilman David Barbour.