Johnston County Girl Scout Earns Silver Award

Colleen Thompson of Clayton has been awarded the Girl Scout Silver Award by Girl Scouts – North Carolina Coastal Pines. The Girl Scout Silver Award is the second highest achievement in Girl Scouting. The award symbolizes a Girl Scout Cadette’s accomplishments in Girl Scouting and her community as she discovers her strengths and takes action to make the world a better place.

For her Girl Scout Silver Award project, Sock Collection, Thompson collected 424 pairs of socks to be donated to the Smithfield Rescue Mission. She set up several drop-off sites around the community and her project will help benefit the homeless at the shelter. Through her project, Thompson learned about the needs of her community and that one person can make a difference.

Thompson is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Patrick Thompson. She has been a Girl Scout since 2009 and is a member of Girl Scout Troop #640 led by Angie Taylor.

About the Silver Award
The Silver Award is the highest honor a Girl Scout in the sixth through eighth grades can earn. The Silver Award recognizes the work of Girl Scout Cadettes who demonstrate leadership skills culminatingin 50 hours or more dedicated toward a service project that makes a difference in their community. The service project can be completed as an individual or with a group. If accomplished as a group, each girl is responsible for a specific part of the project and is required to evaluate her contribution to the project and to the group.

Girl Scouts and Leadership
In partnership with around 10,000 adult volunteers, Girl Scouts – North Carolina Coastal Pines serves more than 26,000 girl members in 41 central and eastern North Carolina counties. Counties include: Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Chatham, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pender, Person, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Vance, Wake, Warren, Wayne, and Wilson.) The council’s administrative headquarters is located in Raleigh, with additional program and service centers located in Goldsboro, Fayetteville and Wilmington.