Wiggins Named William V. Campbell Trophy Semi-Finalist

Levi Wiggins has been recognized as a semifinalist for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy. Photo by Bennett Scarborough

BUIES CREEK – Campbell’s Levi Wiggins has been recognized as one of 176 semi-finalists for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy, college football’s premier scholar-athlete award, by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF).

Celebrating its 32nd year, the Campbell Trophy recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.

Also a 2020 Campbell Trophy semifinalist, Wiggins is a two-time Big South All-Academic Team member (2019-20), and a 2020 Preseason All-Big South pick by Phil Steele. The trust and wealth management major, also minoring in financial planning, is one of 105 of the 2021 semifinalists who have already earned their bachelor’s degrees.

So far this season, the team captain owns six tackles with a forced fumble and a pass breakup, starting all three games for the Camels. Wiggins has played in 40 career games for CU, making 24 starts with 115 tackles.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 27, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2021 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to the ARIA Resort & Casino Las Vegas for the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas on Dec. 7, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. Live during the event, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 32nd Campbell Trophy® and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.