20 Semifinalists In The Running For Teacher Of The Year

Twenty teachers from Johnston County Public Schools have been selected as semifinalists for the Flame For Learning Award this year. This award recognizes outstanding creativity and innovation in the classroom and nominees are selected strictly on merit, without regard to school or residence.

Through a nomination process, teachers in Johnston County were invited to submit a “best idea or practice” used by that teacher. The winner of the Flame for Learning award will represent Johnston County in the regional competition.

The 2021 Flame for Learning semifinalists represent 14 schools. The 20 semifinalists are: Carolyn Benner (Cleveland Middle), Heather Best (River Dell Elementary), Amanda Dauphinais (Innovation Academy), Amanda Everette (Four Oaks Middle), Crystal Hardison (Clayton High), Catherine Hoyt (South Smithfield Elementary), Elisabeth Jones (Selma Elementary), Bethany Jones (Smithfield-Selma High), Kimberlie Jones (Riverwood Elementary), Brian Jones (Smithfield-Selma High), Kimberly Jorett (Clayton Middle), Rachel Langdon (Clayton High), LaChandle Nowling (West Clayton Elementary), Allie Parrish (South Smithfield Elementary), Janna Rogerson (Princeton Elementary), Deborah Roll (Clayton Middle), Madison Simerson (Four Oaks Elementary), Shannon Smithies (Selma Elementary), Mary Beth Thompson (Four Oaks Middle), and Jennifer Vogel (Riverwood Middle).

The Flame For Learning Award is an annual event of the Triangle East Chamber of Commerce. Johnston County’s Teacher of the Year will be named at the 27th Annual Triangle East Flame for Learning Award Ceremony on May 6th, 2021.